A new deputy mayor for East Hawkesbury Township

Par Raymond Berthiaume
A new deputy mayor for East Hawkesbury Township
East Hawkesbury election

Jacques Tranchemontagne won the seat with 599 votes in Monday night’s municipal election. He defeated Simon Rozon by 18 votes. Rozen held a seat on council and chose to run for the deputy mayor’s position rather than seek reelection as a councillor.

Incumbent councillors Karina Sauvé and Stephanie Sabourin won their reelection bids with 528 votes for Sauvé and 648 for Sabourin. Monique Desjardins will joint hem as the newest member of township council, receiving 881 ballots of support. The other two challengers for council seats, Pierre Langlois and Thaila Riden, received 520 and 288 votes respectively.

Mayor Robert Kirby was acclaimed for another term, with no declared challengers to his position at the end of the August nomination period.

Sergine Rachelle Bouchard won reelection as East Hawkesbury Township’s and Champlain Township’s representative on the Conseil scolaire district catholique de l’Est ontarien with 324 votes to challenger André Bonneau’s 199. All of the incumbent school trustees with the Conseil scolaire publique de l’Est Ontario, the Upper Canada District School Board, and the Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario were acclaimed without challenge to their positions.

Partager cet article