CDSBEO welcomes new board of trustees

Par Raymond Berthiaume
CDSBEO welcomes new board of trustees
CDSBEO inauguration

The position of chair has been filled by Sue Wilson, trustee for Prescott-Russell, who was elected to the position after serving as vice-chair since 2020. Her old seat is taken by Karen McAllister, Trustee for Dundas and Stormont, who was elected to vice-chair after 16 years of serving as a CDSBEO trustee.

“I am humbled to be elected as Board Chair, and I would like to thank this Board of Trustees for the opportunity to serve in this role,” said Wilson. “We have an amazing team at CDSBEO, and we all come to the table with our shared purpose to serve the betterment of the students in our care. I would also like to thank my family, who has supported me throughout this journey for the past 23 years. It is always a pleasure to witness the wonderful things happening in our schools and the ongoing successes of our students. It is a sincere compliment to our school staff, as well as administration, for the exceptional work that they do.”

The board also welcomed three new trustees for the 2022-2026 term: Christopher Cummings is the trustee for the City of Brockville, Town of Smiths Falls, and Leeds County; Donna Nielsen and Karen Torrie-Racine are the two trustees on the board for the City of Cornwall and Glengarry County.

Cummings served on the Smiths Falls town council for three terms starting in 2006, and he also served as library trustee and board chair for the Smiths Falls Public Library, a member of the Smiths Falls Police Board, and he continues to serve as vice-chair of Rideau Community Health Services.

Nielsen has 35 years of education experience as a teacher, SERT, and principal. She is an active member of St. Peter’s Parish in Cornwall where she acts as Parish Council President/Chair, is a member of the Catholic Women’s League, and participates as Eucharistic Minister, Children’s Liturgy, Hospitality Ministry and Baptism Preparation.

Torrie-Racine joins the CDSBEO board after holding many positions at the provincial level with the Multiple Sclerosis Society and serving 33 years as a volunteer with the Multiple Sclerosis Society Cornwall and District Chapter until 2018.

« Both Chair Wilson and Vice-Chair McAllister have demonstrated their enduring commitment to Catholic education, and we look forward to their continued service in their new roles,” said Director of Education Laurie Corrigan.

Partager cet article